Beside Zayed University,
Zayed City,
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Tel : 00971 2 635 9999

Facts & Figures


The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates that was formed in December 2, 1971.

Country Name :- Conventional Long Form: United Arab Emirates
                                                                                    Local Long Form(Arabic): Dawlat Al Imarat Al Arabiyya Al Muttahidah
                                                                                    Local Short Form(Arabic): Al Imarat
                                                                                    Abbreviation: UAE
                                                                                    Arabic Words: دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
Emirates :- Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah
Capital :- Abu Dhabi
Largest City :- Abu Dhabi
National Day :- 2nd December 1971
President :- H.H. Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (3 November 2004)
Vice President & Prime Minister :- H. H. Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (5 January 2006)
Political System :- A federation with specific areas of authority constitutionally assigned to the UAE Federal Government and other powers reserved for member emirates

Constitution :- Adopted provisionally on 2nd Dec 1971, made permanent in 1996.

Monetary Unit :- UAE Dirham 1AED = 100 Fills
Exchange Rate :- 1 USD = AED 3.67 (Pegged to the US Dollar)
Language :- The official language is Arabic. English is widely understood and ranks alongside Arabic as the language of commerce
Religion :- Islam (Practice of all religious beliefs is allowed)
Fiscal Year :- 1st January to 31st December
Weekend :- Friday and Saturday for government institutions. Many private companies operate a six-day week (with Friday as an off day)
International Dialing Code :- +971
Internet Domain :- ae




Area :- 83,600 Sq. km.
Location :- Bordered to the North by the Arabian Gulf, to the East by the Gulf of Oman and Sultanate of Oman, to the South by Saudi Arabia and Sultanate of Oman                                                                                               and to the West by Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

Geographic Coordinates :- 22°50′ and 26° north and 51° and 56°25′ east.
Climate :- Arid Desert, cooler in the eastern mountains. (Winter: warm & sunny / Summer: hot and humid)
Time :- GMT +4 (Daylight Saving Time +3)
Elevation Extremes :- Arabian Gulf 0 m, Jabal Yibir 1, 627 m
Natural Resources :- Oil and Gas
Population :- 8.19 million, 16.5 % Nationals (est.2010. The National Bureau of Statistics, UAE)